Is maroon a shade of purple?

Lexico online dictionary defines maroon as a brownish-red. Dictionary.com defines maroon as a Dark purple. The Oxford English Dictionary describes maroon as "a brownish crimson (strong red) or claret (purple color) color," while the Merriam-Webster online dictionary simply defines it as a dark red.