Why does sonic have red shoes?

Sonic's shoes are a tribute to Michael Jackson. Sonic's famous pair of red and white trainers are based off of boots worn by the king of Pop himself.

---

according to character designer Naoto Ohshima, the design of Sonic's shoes was inspired by the boots worn by Michael Jackson on the cover of the music album Bad, and the colors were inspired by Santa Claus.