What happened to sirius black?

In the fifth installment of the franchise, Sirius — Harry's godfather — was killed by cousin Bellatrix Lestrange during the Battle of the Department of Mysteries. Sirius died after Bellatrix struck him with a curse that sent him falling through the veil.