What does sprial mean?

Spiral can be used as an adjective noun or verb. Commonly it means winding in a continuous and gradually widening or tightening curve around a central point of a flat plane or about an axis so as to form a cone. It can also suggest a progressive rise or fall in a commodity or a pattern of movement.