Who owns the federal government of the united states?

On Dec. 23, 1913, Woodrow Wilson signed the Federal Reserve Act. A committee made up of Secretary of Treasury William McAdoo, Secretary of Agriculture David Houston, and Comptroller of Currency John Williams decided which U.S. cities are residence for one of 12 Federal Reserve District Bank.