Why is charlie brown bald?

According to Peanuts fandom, Charlie Brown is drawn with only a small curl of hair at the front of his head, and a little in the back. Charles M. Schulz claimed that he saw Charlie Brown as having hair that was so light, and cut so short, that it could not be seen very easily.