What is a rooster?

A rooster is a male chicken.

---

The chicken is a domesticated junglefowl species, with attributes of wild species such as the grey and the Ceylon junglefowl that are originally from Southeastern Asia. Rooster or cock is a term for an adult male bird, a younger male may be called a cockerel. A castrated male is a capon.