Why is it called a charley horse?

There are lots of theories on the words Charley Horse, many going to baseball players, but no one is sure where the name came from. The painful and involuntary muscles spasms sure make it hard to concentrate on if there was a horse or a limping man. Everyone can agree that some massage may help.