What's the first law of thermodynamics?

The First Law of Thermodynamics states that heat is a form of energy, and thermodynamic processes are therefore subject to the principle of conservation of energy. This means that heat energy cannot be created or destroyed. The fundamental principles of thermodynamics are expressed in four laws.