What's the difference between pico de gayo and salsa?

The difference between Pico de Gallo and salsa is mostly found in the texture. Pico de Gallo is made with fresh ingredients that are chopped and tossed together. While many salsas use the same ingredients they have much more liquid and their consistency can vary from chopped to pureed.