How long do cold sores last?

Cold sores typically last about 2 weeks. They start with itch and tingle, rise sometimes to a blister and then dry and fade. It's a process. A good way to treat a cold sore is to dab with hand sanitizer several times a day. So long as not near eyes and not in mouth.