What's the difference between marinara sauce and pasta sauce?

One of the key differences is that pasta sauce is more robust and complex, with a longer ingredient list and rich flavor. Marinara does not typically contain meat (while spaghetti sauce does), giving it a thinner texture. Marinara is traditionally used as a dipping sauce, while pasta sauce is not.