How many islands are in hawaii?

There are eight main islands and a number of smaller, uninhabited islands and atolls. The Hawaiian Archipelago has approximately 137 volcanic islands (more may have been created recently). Most, but not all, are belong to the geographical territory of the State of Hawaii.