Why do we put up a christmas tree at christmas?

Long before Christianity, plants and trees that remained green all year had a special meaning for people in winter. ancient peoples hung evergreen over doors and windows. it was believed that evergreens would keep away evil spirits and illness due to their ability to stay green in winter