When was the first hot chocolate made?

Hot chocolate started out as a cold beverage. As early as 500 BC, the Mayan people were drinking chocolate beverages, but they were always served cold. In the 1500's the explorer Cortez brought the beverage to Europe and it was King Charles V of Spain that first served the beverage hot.