Who did sugar ray leonard defeat in nineteen eighty one?

Promoted as "The Showdown" Leonard (30-1 with 21 KO) fought Hearns (32-0 with 30 KO) on September 16, 1981 at Caesar's Palace in Las Vegas, NV to unify the world welterweight championship in a scheduled 15-rounder. They fought before a live crowd of 23,618 and a worldwide TV audience of 300 million.