What age is our preteen?

A tween (pre-teen) is a child who's between the stages of childhood and adolescence. It's this “in-between” stage that the name “tween” is derived from. The term was first coined in the late 1980s. Children enter their tween years somewhere around ages 9 to 12 years old.