Who founded the spanish armada?

King Philip II commissioned the construction of the Spanish Armada. It was a Spanish fleet of 130 ships that sailed from Lisbon in late May 1588, commanded by the Duke of Medina Sidonia, with the purpose of escorting an army from Flanders to invade England.