What kind of meat is spam?

It may come as a pleasant surprise to learn that SPAM is not the preservative-packed mystery meat you might think it is. In fact, SPAM only contains six ingredients! They are: pork with ham meat added (that counts as one), salt, water, potato starch, sugar, and sodium nitrite.