How long can you marinate meat for?

If you are marinated meat for flavour, you can marinate for up to 2 hours as long as it stays in the fridge. If you are marinating meat to make it more tender it should marinate for 6 to 24 hours, make sure that you have a bit of acidity in the marinade and that it stay in the fridge while soaking.