What's the difference between white potatoes and yellow potatoes?

White potatoes are considered all-purpose potatoes as they hold their shape well after cooking and are a popular choice for salads and for grilling. Yellow potatoes are slightly waxy in texture, velvety, and moist. They are ideal for lighter versions of baked, roasted or mashed potatoes.