Is it bad to eat expired chocolate?

You’re probably safe unless you see a sugar or cocoa ‘bloom’. Sugar blooms are powdery white and indicate that the chocolate has changed temperatures. Do not eat this chocolate. Cocoa blooms are greasy and white, not harmful but flavor is impacted. Use that chocolate for baking.