When did britain give hong kong back to china?

1997 The U.K. government said China is in a “state of ongoing non-compliance” with the Sino-British Joint Declaration, a treaty signed by the two countries that guarantees Hong Kong's rights and freedoms after the city was handed back to Beijing in 1997