Can poison ivy spread on your body?

Yes, if the plant’s oil isn’t bonded with the skin yet and spreads. It can also spread by repeated contact with the oil from surfaces such as tools, clothing and your pet’s fur. It does not spread from the rash which is an allergic reaction to the oil.