Where did boxing day come from?

Boxing Day is a holiday celebrated after Christmas Day, occurring on the 26th of December. Boxing Day originated as a holiday to give gifts to the poor. It originated in Great Britain and is celebrated in a number of countries that previously formed part of the British Empire.