Which player has played in the most world cups?

Lionel Messi is the player with the most games played at the FIFA World Cup, and one of only six along with German Lothar Matthäus, Portuguese Cristiano Ronaldo and Mexicans Antonio Carbajal, Andrés Guardado, and Rafael Márquez to have entered the field in five different tournaments