How do people sleep walk?

Sleepwalking is a disorder that causes you to get up and walk while you're asleep. Your doctor might call it somnambulism. It usually happens when you're going from a deep stage of sleep to a lighter stage or coming awake. You can't respond while you're sleepwalking and usually don't remember it.