How do people sleep walk?

Sleepwalking or somnambulism, is a behavior disorder (more common in children) that originates during deep sleep and results in walking or other complex behaviors (talking, eating, driving) while asleep. It affects 1% to 15% of the population. Sleepwalkers typically have no memory of the event.