What is the book hatchet?

Hatchet is a survival novel about a thirteen-year-old boy named Brian Robeson who finds himself completely alone in the Canadian wilderness with only a hatchet as his tool. Gary Paulsen was inspired to write Hatchet by his own survival experiments and tendencies.

---

Hatchet is a young-adult adventure novel about Brian Robeson's survival following a plane crash. The novel explores themes of positive thinking and perseverance as Brian faces challenges from nature, like bears, porcupines, dehydration, and starvation; all with only his trusty hatchet to help him.