Why is alabama's mascot an elephant?

The story of how Alabama became associated with the "elephant" goes back to the 1930 season when Coach Wallace Wade had assembled a great football team. Writers continued to refer to the Alabama linemen as "Red Elephants," the color referring to the crimson jerseys.