Does vinegar stain?

White vinegar does not stain. Balsamic vinegar, red wine vinegar, wine vinegar, rice vinegar, and apple cider vinegar are all examples of vinegars with dyes, sugars, and other stain-inducing ingredients. If you cook, bake, or pickle with these vinegars, use caution as they can cause stains.