How do you determine if an egg is good?

Fill a bowl with cold water and place your eggs in the bowl. If they sink to the bottom and lay flat on their sides, they're very fresh. If they're slightly old but still good to eat, they'll stand on one end at the bottom of the bowl. If they float to the surface, they're not fresh enough to eat

---

You can hold it up to a light and look if there’s something wrong going on inside but the only way to really tell is to crack it open and if there’s not a vomit inducing smell it’s likely fine. To avoid salmonella avoid eating raw eggs and cook the eggs throughly.