How do you determine if an egg is good?

Fill a bowl with cold water and place your eggs in the bowl. If they sink to the bottom and lay flat on their sides, they're very fresh. If they're slightly old but still good to eat, they'll stand on one end at the bottom of the bowl. If they float to the surface, they're not fresh enough to eat