Why do we tell actors to break a leg?

In horse racing one would never wish good luck as it might push one’s luck too far. You would say rather, I hope your horse will break a leg. This served as a kind of reverse psychological thought to appease the spirits of fate. Though theatre is not as superstitious as horse racing, it is close.