What's a demi glass?

Demi-glass is a rich brown sauce in French cuisine used by itself or as a base for other sauces. The term comes from the French word glass, which, when used in reference to a sauce, means "icing" or "glaze." It is traditionally made by combining one part Espagnole sauce and one part brown stock.