What is global warming?

Global warming is the long term rising of the Earth's temperature, caused by the greenhouse effect. The terms 'global warming' and 'climate change' are often used interchangeably, because the current trend in climate change is that the earth is getting warmer.

---

Global warming is the long-term heating of the Earth's surface observed since the pre-industrial period (between 1850 and 1900) due to human activities, primarily fossil fuel burning, which increases heat-trapping greenhouse gas levels in Earth's atmosphere. This is not "climate change."