What is italian sudo?

Sugo, meaning 'sauce' in Italian, is a traditional tomato sauce. Contrary to popular belief it is not tomato passata, which is a concentrated, sieved tomato puree. Instead, sugo is made from ripe tomatoes cooked with extra virgin olive oil, onions and garlic, and seasoned.