When was the first animal in space?

Dog Laika was launched into space aboard Sputnik 2 on November 3, 1957, making her the first animal launched into space. Laika did not survive the mission.

---

Laika was a stray dog from the streets of Moscow, who was selected to be the first animal to orbit the Earth. In 1957, Laika was launched into space aboard the Soviet spacecraft Sputnik 2. She reached orbit alive, circling the Earth in about 103 minutes. She died from overheating or asphyxiation.