What minecraft tool mines?

Pickaxes, or picks, are probably the tool that people use the most in Minecraft. You'll need one to mine stone and ores, as well as to break objects like furnaces, anvils and iron bars. It's often the first tool that people make in the game, out of two sticks and three bits of wood.