Why do cats like sitting in boxes?

Cats' normal body temperatures can range from 99.5°F to 102.5°F. Cardboard can provide insulation that helps them retain their body heat. This insulation is something cats crave when they are outdoors, since boxes may also provide shelter from the weather.