Why does cheese smell?

The warm, moist, and salty solution is the perfect environment to attract bacteria. The bacteria most responsible for the smelly smell are called Brevibacterium linens (also called B. linens). They break down the protein on the outer layer of the cheese (called rind) and release stinky gasses.