What does eighty two percent humidity mean?

Relative humidity is a percentage that represents the amount of water vapor in the air at a given temperature compared to the max possible water vapor amount at that same temperature. For instance, relative humidity of 25 percent means that air is at a quarter of its possible water vapor capacity.