Can a spider bite kill you?

Most spider bites cause mild reactions. But some people are allergic to spiders. This means that spider bites occasionally cause severe allergic reactions, including the most dangerous reaction—anaphylactic shock. Although rare, anaphylactic shock can come on very quickly and can be fatal.

---

Very few people actually die of spider bites. The bite of the brown recluse or black widow can cause local effects (pain, redness of the skin, an open wound) or systemic effects. In a very small number of people, deep wounds can develop from infection. The result can be necrosis (tissue death).