Can a spider bite kill you?

Very few people actually die of spider bites. The bite of the brown recluse or black widow can cause local effects (pain, redness of the skin, an open wound) or systemic effects. In a very small number of people, deep wounds can develop from infection. The result can be necrosis (tissue death).