What does the word burger mean?

The word burger is defined in the "Free Dictionary" as: A dish consisting of a round patty of ground beef, or sometimes another savory ingredient, that is fried or grilled and typically served in a split bun or roll with various condiments and toppings. My favourite's are buffalo or turkey.