Are coyotes scavengers?

Coyotes will eat whatever food is available. They prefer freshly caught rodents, but will attack small deer or livestock if hungry. And if no other food is available, they will eat insects or fruits or berries. And coyotes may have to take advantage of roadkill or other carrion