Who invented teddy bears?

The Teddy Bear was developed apparently simultaneously by toymakers Morris Michtom in the U.S. and Richard Steiff under his aunt Margarete Steiff's company in Germany in the early years of the 20th century, and named after President Theodore Roosevelt