What is butter box babies?

Babies who died were disposed of in small wooden grocery boxes, typically used for dairy products. The term Butterbox Babies is used to refer to these unfortunate infants. The Butterbox Babies bodies were buried on the property, adjacent to a nearby cemetery at sea or sometimes burned in the furnace