How long does it take for dogs to fall asleep?

Dogs tend to experience sleep-wake cycles of 16 minutes asleep, 5 minutes awake.dogs spend 12 to 14 hours per day sleeping. Your dog’s particular sleep needs may vary around that range, depending on his age, size, breed, activity level. Larger breeds tend to sleep easier than smaller breeds.