Why is the starbucks logo a mermaid?

Steve Murray (the creative director in the Starbucks Global Creative Studio) told starbucks stories & news in 2016, the creators loved the look and felt it tied into what they felt Starbucks stood for. “So we took inspiration from that and created the logo from there. And she became the siren.”