Are peanuts a nut?

Peanuts aren't actually a true nut; they're a legume (in the same family as peas and lentils). But the proteins in peanuts are similar in structure to those in tree nuts.

---

Peanuts are not the same as tree nuts. They belong to the legume family. And are grown underground. But just because they are not a tree nut, does not mean people are not allergic to peanuts.