How do you adopt a kid in sims four?

To adopt a child, have any Young Adult, Adult, or Elder Sim interact with their cell phone. Navigate to the third tab (the one with the house icon), then select the "Hire a Service" option. At the very bottom of the pop-up box is the "Adopt a Child" option