Is sri lanka a third world country?

The term Third World was originally coined during the Cold War to distinguish those nations that are neither aligned with the West (NATO) nor with the East, the Communist bloc. Today the term describes developing countries of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia/Oceania, like Sri Lanka.